Factions secondaries

majeh456

majeh456

Academy Page

Join Date: Jan 2006

A/

I read somewhere that you can just buy a secondary in SC in Cantha. Does that mean that you can have your desert secondary, but still have the Factions secondary (ie: R/W gains Mo as a secondary in the desert, but can change into R/Rt as a secondary bought from Cantha)?

Aisius

Aisius

Lion's Arch Merchant

Join Date: Jun 2006

Melbourne , Australia

Crazy Clan[CRAZ]

W/

No. You can pay 500g to a profession changer who resides in Senji's Corner on the factions map. You retain your other 2nd profession skills (only you can't use them until you change back to that profession)when you revert back that part is free.

I think that's one of the biggest plus's of the game for me at the moment I love capping skills and playing with different builds and can do it all on my warrior

majeh456

majeh456

Academy Page

Join Date: Jan 2006

A/

I'm guessing that means if I grab Mo in the desert I can't buy the Rt profession in Cantha.

Former Ruling

Grotto Attendant

Join Date: Oct 2005

Cedartown, Georgia

R/

Quote:
Originally Posted by majeh456
I'm guessing that means if I grab Mo in the desert I can't buy the Rt profession in Cantha.
You can...The other guy misread your question..

YOu can mix and match, gain some secondaries in the desert, some at Senji's Corner. Doesnt matter.

majeh456

majeh456

Academy Page

Join Date: Jan 2006

A/

Cool, but are you sure? Does that mean that, technically, I would be R/W/Mo/Rt?

Silent Kitty

Silent Kitty

Desert Nomad

Join Date: Mar 2006

Netherlands

[TYW] "The Young World"

A/Me

Quote:
Originally Posted by majeh456
Cool, but are you sure? Does that mean that, technically, I would be R/W/Mo/Rt?
The answer is "Yes". Now, if they only changed the game mechanics, so we can use them all

Kook~NBK~

Grotto Attendant

Join Date: Mar 2005

A little chalet outside Drok's

Natural Born Killaz

Quote:
Originally Posted by majeh456
Cool, but are you sure? Does that mean that, technically, I would be R/W/Mo/Rt?
Nope. When you change secondary professions, you lose access to all of your old secondary's attributes & skills. So, if you're a W/Mo and you change to a W/R, you'll lose all of your Monk skills & will get a few ranger skills. When you change back to W/Mo, you lose all of your ranger skills.

In Cantha, the first time you change to a particular profession, it costs 500g. Start with a W/Mo - Change it to W/E and it will cost 500g. later on, change it to W/Me, it'll cost another 500g. Then change it back to W/Mo (or W/Me) and it won't cost anything & the skills you've gotten in those professions will be made availiable to you once again.

Silent Kitty

Silent Kitty

Desert Nomad

Join Date: Mar 2006

Netherlands

[TYW] "The Young World"

A/Me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kook~NBK~
Nope. When you change secondary professions, you lose access to all of your old secondary's attributes & skills. So, if you're a W/Mo and you change to a W/R, you'll lose all of your Monk skills & will get a few ranger skills. .
He will still have them, just lost access untill he switches back.

G_MAGNUS

G_MAGNUS

Lion's Arch Merchant

Join Date: Oct 2005

La Legion Del Dragon [LD]

W/

To activate the Profession Changer in Cantha, you Have to pay a one time fee of 500g per profession, that's even if you already unlocked the secondaries in the dessert. It's just easier to do in Cantha because there are no related quests involved.

And to your last question, if you are thinking that the secondaries would stack up, then you are misunderstanding how it would work. Whenever you go with a Prof Changer (Tyrian or Canthan) you temporarily abandon your current secondary untill you switch back to it. So in effect, if you have the professions you mentioned unblocked, you would effectively have R/W, R/Mo, R/Rt as opposed to a stacked R/W/Mo/Rt.

majeh456

majeh456

Academy Page

Join Date: Jan 2006

A/

Quote:
Originally Posted by G_MAGNUS
...you would effectively have R/W, R/Mo, R/Rt as opposed to a stacked R/W/Mo/Rt.
That's what I meant. Thank you.