What happens when a hex is duplicated on the same target?

Elrodien

Elrodien

Lion's Arch Merchant

Join Date: Nov 2005

Barbie's Motorhome

The Biggyverse [PLEB]

Me/

Ok, say you have two necros on the same team that use parasitic as a cover hex.

If they are hexing the same target and both cover the hex with parasitic, what happens?

Does the first hex get removed if a duplicate hex is cast, with the duration starting from the new hex?

If so does the original parasitic return the health stated on the skill description?

This is one of the strange questions that can bubble up over my guilds Alliance chat and I wouldn't mind finding out for sure!

Thanks in advance.

stueyman2099

stueyman2099

Krytan Explorer

Join Date: Sep 2005

Clan W A S D [WASD]

W/E

In the case of hexes that effect both the person casting the hex and the target, both casters will recieve the benefit, but the effect is only applied once. If 2 necro's cast life siphon on the same guy, he will be at -3 degen, and both necro's will be at +3 regen.

romO

romO

Wilds Pathfinder

Join Date: Jun 2005

Chicago

Idiot Savants [iQ]

Mo/

Stuey is right when it comes to the offensive benefit. The target will only feel one of the hexes, yet the caster benefits will stack. As to your question about duration, both hexes will virtually stay on the target (although he only feels one) and will remain there until the one that would end the latest ends. The first hex will not be removed as soon as the second is applied, but will rather lie dormant until it is scheduled to end. In the case of parasitic bond, you will receive the healing once the hex would naturally wear out rather than when another is reapplied. When a hex removal is cast on a target with stacked hexes of the same kind, both hexes will end. This is, of course, only the case when multiple casters cast the same hex on the same target. I don't have an answer as to whether the same rules apply when the same caster overlaps the same hex on a target. By this rule, if one were to spam parasitic on a target, he or she would be healed for the amount in the skill description after 20 seconds and then at every other cast interval. Another possibility would be that the hex is simply reapplied and he or she will not receive the entire benefit until it is eliminated from the target completely (as is the case with enchantments; i.e. Mantra of Recall). Or the benefit could be triggered every time the hex is reapplied. If anyone has the answer to this, I would be interested, and if anyone would like to do some testing, I'll bake you some e-cookies.

kryshnysh

Lion's Arch Merchant

Join Date: Jan 2006

Valkyrie Einherjar

Mo/

Quote:
Originally Posted by romO
Another possibility would be that the hex is simply reapplied and he or she will not receive the entire benefit until it is eliminated from the target completely (as is the case with enchantments; i.e. Mantra of Recall).
I've tested this before, but to check no update on the mechanic, just tested again. Parasitic Bond on a piece of armor only gives you the health when the last one ends. If you sac some health, then recast parasitic every 3-4 seconds or so, you will not get healed 20 seconds in. It acts like Mantra of Recall. I believe every hex is like that, but I've never tested any other than Parasitic Bond.

Elrodien

Elrodien

Lion's Arch Merchant

Join Date: Nov 2005

Barbie's Motorhome

The Biggyverse [PLEB]

Me/

Thanks for the information guys. Well answered (as I knew it would be on Guru's forums ) and to the point.

The knowledge of the game mechanics of GW some people have never ceases to amaze me! Keep up the good work.

shardfenix

shardfenix

Banned

Join Date: Dec 2005

Il Power Overwhelming Il [HaX]

the duration is renewed. No "hex acquiring" or "hex losing" effects trigger.

Patrograd

Jungle Guide

Join Date: Sep 2005

UK

Charr Women [hawt]

Quote:
Originally Posted by shardfenix
the duration is renewed. No "hex acquiring" or "hex losing" effects trigger.
I have been unable to properly test this, but it is my impression that if you re-apply images of remorse to an attacking warrior he takes damage with each application as long as he is attacking.

Like I say, I've never tested this, just the impression I have from playing degen mesmer alot recently

JR

JR

Re:tired

Join Date: Nov 2005

W/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrograd
I have been unable to properly test this, but it is my impression that if you re-apply images of remorse to an attacking warrior he takes damage with each application as long as he is attacking.
Wouldn't surprise me, much like Water Hexes where the actual damage (be it conditional or not) is unlinked to the actual Hex it's self.

As such Water Hexes used to do damage even through Hex Breaker, although the actual snare wouldn't stick. Not sure if this is still the case having not tested it recently, but I haven't seen any update note to the contrary.

shardfenix

shardfenix

Banned

Join Date: Dec 2005

Il Power Overwhelming Il [HaX]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrograd
I have been unable to properly test this, but it is my impression that if you re-apply images of remorse to an attacking warrior he takes damage with each application as long as he is attacking.

Like I say, I've never tested this, just the impression I have from playing degen mesmer alot recently
The damage caused by images of remorse is not caused by the hex being cast. It is a seperate function of the spell as you finish casting it, similar to how Aura of Displacement remembers where you used it last. If you reuse AOD, you do not get "re-enchanted", but it will remember the new location you used it at.

The only time a hex or enchantment gets reapplied is when the description specifically says so, like in enduring toxin.

romO

romO

Wilds Pathfinder

Join Date: Jun 2005

Chicago

Idiot Savants [iQ]

Mo/

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR-
Wouldn't surprise me, much like Water Hexes where the actual damage (be it conditional or not) is unlinked to the actual Hex it's self.

As such Water Hexes used to do damage even through Hex Breaker, although the actual snare wouldn't stick. Not sure if this is still the case having not tested it recently, but I haven't seen any update note to the contrary.
Yes, this is still the case.

On a related note, I think I'm going to go ahead and give myself a gold star for making this the most productive post of the day.

Divineshadows

Divineshadows

No power in the verse

Join Date: Sep 2005

San Francisco, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by shardfenix
The damage caused by images of remorse is not caused by the hex being cast. It is a seperate function of the spell as you finish casting it, similar to how Aura of Displacement remembers where you used it last. If you reuse AOD, you do not get "re-enchanted", but it will remember the new location you used it at.

The only time a hex or enchantment gets reapplied is when the description specifically says so, like in enduring toxin.
This functionality is part of what makes images of remorse such an awesome skill for an ineptitude/clumbsiness mesmer in arenas as it offers a 3rd way to punish attackers and really puts the hurt down on frenzy users.